About the Celtic Christmas Show

The award-winning North Texas-based Celtic Band The Selkie Girls will debut their long-awaited Christmas CD at two December concerts.  The 12-track CD, “Winter Lore:  Songs of Celtic Christmas,” features familiar Christmas carols including “I Saw Three Ships” and “We Three Kings” performed with the Celtic flare of Irish penny whistle, folk mandolin and harp, as well as some sacred Celtic favorites including “Rug Muire Mac do Dhia” (translation:  Mary Bore a Son to God) and even “Auld Lang Syne” to celebrate the New Year.   Many of the songs are performed in Irish and Scottish Gaelic.   “Winter Lore:  Songs of Celtic Christmas” also features vocals from students at the North Texas School of Irish Music Gaelic Youth Chorus. 

“Most of our fans are familiar with these Christmas carols,” says Selkie Girls’ founder Dave Ervin, “but our Celtic interpretations give listeners a fresh take on these holiday favorites.” 

The Selkie Girls will perform songs from “Winter Lore” in two upcoming North Texas Christmas concerts:  Friday, Dec. 7 at 7:30 p.m. the Allen Library, and Saturday, Dec. 8 at 7:30 p.m. at the City Life Church in Fort Worth. 

The Allen Library concert will feature guest performers including:

  • The North Texas School of Irish Music Gaelic Youth Chorus,
  • David Mehalko,
  • Celtic Soprano Misty Posey,
  • Blue Bonnets Highland Dance,
  • Harber Row and
  • Sarah Copus. 

The Fort Worth concert will feature guest performers including:

  • String Theory,
  • David Mehalko,
  • Blue Bonnets Highland Dance, and
  • Misty Posey.   

In addition to the new Christmas CD, The Selkie Girls have three other CDs including “Pirate Queen,” “Long Time Traveling,” and their first CD “Parting Glass.”  The band was recognized with the Celtic Radio Music Award for “Best Song of 2015” for the single “Gaelic Song,” which earned them a place in the Celtic Radio Hall of Fame.  For more information on The Selkie Girls or to hear audio clips of their music, visit their website at www.theselkiegirls.com. 

Download the Brochure!

Buy their new Christmas CD below!